The Centre for Philosophy of Sciences (CFCUL) was founded in 2003 as a permanent research unit of the University of Lisbon, funded by the Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia (FCT). It is located in the Faculty of Sciences of the University of Lisbon (FCUL) on the campus of the Cidade Universitária.

The international and interdisciplinary team of CFCUL includes academic staff, senior and junior researchers as well as graduate students from different institutions.

CFCUL research profile is broad, based on an extensive and wide understanding of Philosophy of Science, which spans from formalized to historical and phenomenological approaches to science. Moreover, CFCUL seeks to analyze the metaphysical, ethical, political and aesthetic dimensions and implications of scientific rationality.

CFCUL is organized in three Research Groups [Philosophy of Formal Sciences, Epistemology and Methodology; Philosophy of the Natural Sciences; Philosophy of Technology, Humanities, Art and Society] and a Transversal Research Pole devoted to interdisciplinarity theory and practice in the sciences, arts and humanities.

CFCUL was the proposer and driving force behind the International FCT Doctoral Programme in Philosophy of Science, Technology, Art and Society, the only doctoral programme in Philosophy funded by FCT. Established in 2014, this program gathers eleven national and international academic and research institutions and, as of 2019, has granted twenty doctoral studentships.

CFCUL publishes several book series and is the editor of the international peer-reviewed journal Kairos. Journal of Philosophy & Science, published by De Gruyter in open access.